Top Of The Pops

Inspired by a recent interview with one of my favourite artists explaining his top 13 albums, I have put together a much lazier and less interesting version of my very own. I think there might actually be 15 in my list, and I could easily add a hundred more, so I haven’t quite stuck to the rules, but nevermind. Music means the world to me and so I did actually find this very difficult. Somehow feeling guilty incase I miss a band out and don’t realise until I’ve clicked the ‘Publish post’ button. That would be a nightmare….(or I can just add to it later) Anyway I tried to not think about it too much and instead just write down the first 13 (15) albums that came into my head, and so here they are…in no particular order. (I couldn’t handle the added stress of attempting to rank them as well.)

Click on the packshots for Spotify links. (A few aren’t on Spotify so don’t have links unfortunately)


Saves The Day – Through Being Cool


The Smiths – The Sound Of The Smiths.
I was going to go for Strangeways, Here We Come at an attempt at avoiding a ‘best of’ entry, but seeing as this is one of the best collections of songs ever, I think I can get away with it.


M83 = Saturdays = Youth


Death From Above 1979 – You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine


Bright Eyes – Fevers and Mirrors


Death Cab For Cutie – Transatlaticism


The Postal Service – Give Up


Sonic Youth – Dirty If you don’t know Sonic Youth very well I can’t recommend this album enough. Don’t let awful people like Urban Outfitters fool you into thinking that Goo is the best album, it really isn’t.


The Get Up Kids – Something To Write Home About


The Stokes – Is This It


Daft Punk – Discovery


Deftones – Around The Fur


Interpol – Antics


Modest Mouse – Good News For People Who Love Bad News


Jimmy Eat World – Clarity


Ryan Adams – Heartbreaker


Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream


Glassjaw – Worship And Tribute


Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – Greatest Hits. …Sorry for the greatest hits vibe, but this really is the greatest hits.


Weezer I think in all honestly I actually prefer Pinkerton, but this album reminds me of so many good times and I think still to this day holds the record of being the most played album in my dads car, so I have to go with this.

Leave a Reply

