Theo van Doesburg

I had another one of my nerd art Sundays this weekend and wandered down to the Theo van Doesburg and The Avant-Garde exhibition currently at the Tate Modern. It was without a doubt one of the best exhibitions I think the Tate has ever done and definitely one of the best I’ve ever seen. But then again I love that whole neoplasticism kind of vibe (being Kate Bauhaus) so I was fully expecting to be blwon away.

Anyway it really is brilliant, and incredibly thorough, working it’s way through every detail of van Doesburg’s career, including his paintings, stunning stained glass windows and architecural design, as well as lots and lots of beautiful De Stijl work including lots of absolutely incredible typographical pieces and poster designs that get me far too excited. Man I love that type.

It also features lots of other incredible people, such as Piet Mondrian (heart), Kurt Schwitters, Bart Van Der Leck and the amazing product design of Gerrit Rietveld, as well as lots of Dada inspired record sleeves and film posters, which was wonderful.

My favourite piece was a Mechano-Faktura piece by Henryk Berlewi (below) It really is beautiful and looks far more impressive in real life, so I suggest you go and see it.

Anyway if you dig a straight lines anywhere near as much as me, you have to go and check out this exhbition. You won’t be disspointed it really is absolutely stunning.

Theo van Doesburg

Gerrit Rietveld

Piet Mondrian

Bart Van Der Leck

Leave a Reply

