Kate Alice In Wonderland

I went to see Alice In Wonderland at the weekend with the family. Despite being an obsessive Tim Burton fan, I have to admit that I was slightly worried that the latest film wouldn’t live up to the massive amount of hype that’s been built up over the past 6 months. Especially during fashion week when a lot of shows seemed to subtly hint towards the magical allure of Wonderland.

However, I was so so happy to discover that it is in fact another wonderful and amazing Burton masterpiece. And it became clear that there really is only one combination that is better that Tim Burton, Johnny Depp and Danny Elfman, and that is Tim Burton, Johnny Depp, Danny Elfman and Helena Bonham-Carter.

Tim Burton has managed to be a consistently amazing director as far back as I can remember. Beetlejuice was one of my first favourite films. Followed of course by Vincent and Edward Scissorhands, (still one of the most beautiful films to ever have been made) as well as of course The Nightmare Before Christmas, Ed Wood, Mars Attacks, Sleepy Hollow, Big Fish, Charlie and The Chocolate Factory, Sweeny Todd and now Alice. Not a bad CV.

So anyway, back to Alice, the story differs from the book, as this is based on Alice’s return trip to Wonderland, and not the original story that we all know. I knew this before I went in and so wasn’t disappointed at all. My dad however didn’t like the action’ style ending of this version, which I kind of agree with but loved it nonetheless.

Of course Johnny Depp was absolutely superb as usual in his perfectly cast role as The Mad Hatter although I have to say that I think Helena was the star of the show, she totally nailed it as the Red Queen. Such a ridiculously cool lady, love her. And Mia Wasikowska as Alice is totally wonderful and lovely.

It’s definitely a must see, especially if you’re a Burton fan. Just loooook!

Leave a Reply

